Links I Shared on Twitter this Week: December 12
Iggy Loomis, A Hagfish Called Shirley: Jennifer Allison

A Chick 'n' Pug Christmas: Jennifer Sattler

Book: A Chick 'n' Pug Christmas
Author: Jennifer Sattler
Pages: 32
Age Range: 3-6

A Chick 'n' Pug Christmas is the latest installment in Jennifer Sattler's Chick 'n' Pug series. Pug is somewhat reluctantly dressed up as Santa Claus, and finds himself teaching the more enthusiastic Chick about the holiday. At Chick's instigation, the two friends set out to spread some Christmas cheer, running into friends, and one nemesis, from prior books. In the end, Chick comes up with the perfect holiday gift for his nap-loving companion, and even finds something that can substitute as a sleigh. 

A Chick 'n' Pug Christmas doesn't quite stand alone as a holiday book - it's more about holiday traditions tacked on to a continued exploration of the personalities of Chick and Pug. That is to say, for fans of Chick and Pug, A Chick 'n' Pug Christmas is a lot of fun, and will be hard to resist. But it's more about the characters than the holiday, if that makes any sense. 

A Chick 'n' Pug Christas IS funny. For example, when they run across their enemy, Mr. Snuggles (a mean cat), Chick is pleased to see that Mr. Snuggles is dressed as a reindeer and wearing a collar of bells. The text says:

""Pug, are you thinking
what I'm thinking?"

"I doubt it," mumbled Pug.

"Now everyone will know
where you are! Merry Christmas, 
Mr. Snuggles!" shouted Chick."

The sneer on the face of Mr. Snuggles is priceless.

I like Sattler's acrylic and colored pencil illustrations. Chick's sprightly posture and wide-eyed enthusiasm are irresistible, and a perfect counterpoint to Pug's droopy sleepiness. Even the snow is colorful in Sattler's world, swirled with a hint of various shades against the blue/purple background of the sky. The textured backgrounds make the sharp characters stand out more, particularly the yellow Chick, bright agains the snow. 

In summary, if you are a fan of Sattler's distinctive illustrations in general, or of Chick 'n' Pug specifically, you'll definitely want to check out A Chick 'n' Pug Christmas. If you aren't familiar with Sattler's work, perhaps start with Chick 'n' Pug, and then come back for this one. I also like Sattler's Sylvie as well as Pig Kahnuna

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's Books (@BWkids) 
Publication Date: September 9, 2014
Source of Book: Review copy from the publisher

© 2014 by Jennifer Robinson of Jen Robinson's Book Page. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @JensBookPage or at my Growing Bookworms page on Facebook. This site is an Amazon and iBooks affiliate, and purchases made through affiliate links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).