Sunday Afternoon Visits: January 21
Cynthia Lord's Response to Her Book Awards

The Envelope, Please

The ALA announced the annual award winners in various categories this morning. I'm a bit late with the news, but here it is, for your enjoyment (with text from the ALA release, and links added by me).

SEATTLE – The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the top books and video for children and young adults - including the Caldecott, King, Newbery and Printz awards - at its Midwinter Meeting in Seattle.

A list of all the 2007 literary award winners follows:

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature

The Higher Power of Lucky,” written by Susan Patron, is the 2007 Newbery Medal winner. The book is illustrated by Matt Phelan and published by Simon & Schuster/Richard Jackson.

Three Newbery Honor Books were named: “Penny from Heaven,” written by Jennifer L. Holm and published by Random House; “Hattie Big Sky,” by Kirby Larson, published by Delacorte Press; and “Rules,” by Cynthia Lord, published by Scholastic.

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children

Flotsam,” illustrated by David Wiesner, is the 2007 Caldecott Medal winner. The wordless book is published by Clarion.

Two Caldecott Honor Books were named: “Gone Wild: An Endangered Animal Alphabet,” written and illustrated by David McLimans, and published by Walker, and “Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom,” illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Carole Boston Weatherford and published by Hyperion/Jump at the Sun.

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults

American Born Chinese” by Gene Luen Yang is the 2007 Printz Award winner. The book is published by First Second, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing Holdings Limited Partnership.

Four Printz Honor Books were named:  “The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation; v. 1: The Pox Party” by M. T. Anderson, published by Candlewick; “An Abundance of Katherines” by John Green, published by Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), Inc.; “Surrender” by Sonya Hartnett, published by Candlewick Press; and “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak, published by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books.

Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults

Lois Lowry, author of “The Giver,” is the 2007 Edwards Award winner. “The Giver” is published by Walter Lorraine Books/Houghton Mifflin Company.

And lots of other awards, listed at the ALA website. Personally, I'm not familiar with the Newbery winner, but I LOVED all three of the honor books. I even have signed copies of all three books that I received from the authors. I'm so lucky! And I'm so happy for Kirby, Jenni, and Cindy, who are all class acts, and who certainly deserve the honors. I'm also pretty happy that none of the winners are on the Cybils Middle Grade Fiction shortlist, so I won't be influenced by that all (though Hattie is on the Young Adult Fiction shortlist).

Regarding the Printz awards, I really liked The Book Thief and An Abundance of Katherines. I didn't personally care for Octavian Nothing, but I understand why it won. I haven't read the others. I received a copy of Caldecott winner Flotsam just a few days ago from the publisher, and will look forward to reading it even more than I was already.

All in all, a fun day for awards. Happy reading to all!