The Tooth Fairy Wars: Kate Coombs & Jake Parker
Sam & Dave Dig A Hole: Mac Barnett & Jon Klassen

Links I Shared on Twitter this Week: October 3

TwitterLinksHere are highlights from the links that I shared on Twitter this week @JensBookPage. One topic with a host of links this week is the Cybils -- nominations opened Wednesday. Go to Cybils.com to nominate your favorite well-written, kid-friendly children's and YA titles published in the past year. Other topics inlcuded this week include books, book lists, diversity, multiculturalism, gender, growing bookworms, schools, libraries, events, literacy programs, literacy research, reading, writing, publishing, and blogging.

Books

Picture book fans, do not miss: 6 Theories on the Ending of Sam & Dave Dig a Hole — @100scopenotes http://ow.ly/CdEDc #kidlit

2014 Boston Globe @HornBook Picture Book Day celebrates Mr. Tiger Goes Wild by @itspeterbrown http://ow.ly/BZDRs

14 Essential Talking Points About The Berenstain Bears | @mental_floss via @PWKidsBookshelf http://ow.ly/CdNdq 

Book Lists

Are you ready for some football...books? Randy Ribay recommends some for kids @HornBook blog http://ow.ly/CdDR3

Over at Stacked: Get Genrefied: Gothic Fiction http://ow.ly/CaDt1 #YAlit

The best young adult books of 2014, according to @TelegraphBooks http://ow.ly/CaAgM via @bkshelvesofdoom #yalit

The 2014 Kirkus Prize finalists... @bkshelvesofdoom #kidlit #yalit http://ow.ly/C7E5W

I love the @TesseractViews Tuesday Ten posts. Today's is: Peculiar Pigs in speculative fiction http://ow.ly/CaD9g #kidlit

For fall, a categorized list of children's books (fiction + non) about apples from the SSHEL Library http://ow.ly/CaBse #BookList

Today is World Vegetarian Day. Here are some reading suggestions from @HornBook http://ow.ly/CaB3J

Trendwatch: Tweet Tweet. Year of the Bird (in middle grade fiction), notes @fuseeight http://ow.ly/C7EBe #kidlit

10 Kids' Books Illustrated by Matthew Cordell, selected by @mrskatiefitz http://ow.ly/C7Eje #kidlit

Meet the New Gumshoes in Town | Roundup of upcoming mysteries from @bkshelvesofdoom @KirkusReviews http://ow.ly/C4WMy #yalit

Ten Middle Grade Read-Alikes for John Green Books by Angie Manfredi @misskubelik @NerdyBookClub http://ow.ly/C2E2Z

Cybils

Cybils-Logo-2014-Round-SmOn the #Cybils blog: And…. GO! 2014 Cybils Nominations are OPEN | Don't miss your chance to nominate great books! http://ow.ly/CaAHF

#Cybils nominations are open! "MAKE US READ UNTIL OUR EYEBALLS FALL OUT!" says @bkshelvesofdoom http://ow.ly/CaBPz

Some suggested middle grade fiction titles to nominate for the #Cybils awards, from @semicolonblog http://ow.ly/CaBFs #kidlit

On the #Cybils blog: Young Adult Non-fiction – Category Description from Chair @scharle4 http://ow.ly/C4Ut6

On the #Cybils blog Young Adult Fiction Category Description from chair @interactiver http://ow.ly/C2DAN #YAlit

Over at Jean Little Library, big list of possible titles for #Cybils Nominations, which open WEDNESDAY http://ow.ly/C2Dl1

On the #Cybils blog Young Adult Speculative Fiction Category Description from @SheilaRuth http://ow.ly/C2D73 #yalit

On the #cybils blog: #Poetry – Category Description from category chair @JoneMac53 http://ow.ly/BZBaQ

Diversity, Multiculturalism, and Gender

Hispanic Heritage Month: A YA Reading List from @catagator at Stacked http://ow.ly/CdDSX #yalit #diversity

Hhm-nobooks-300x250Great Ways to Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month from @FirstBook http://ow.ly/CdDcj

#KidLit Bloggers: Sign Up for Multicultural Children's Book Day says @pragmaticmom http://ow.ly/CaCvt

Stacked: Advocating for and writing about girls is a radical act, @catagator explains why (and why this is needed) http://ow.ly/C2DSL

5 Lessons the American Girl Books Taught Us About Feminism | Bustle @HuffingtonPost http://ow.ly/BZBJR via @tashrow

Events, Programs and Research

Read "Bunny Cakes" on October 21st! from @Jumpstartkids Read for the Record, says @FirstBook http://ow.ly/C7CVH

Rx Read: Perri Klass and @ReachOutAndRead at Bellevue Hospital | @sljournal http://ow.ly/CdGea#literacy

Nearly 3/4 of young people prefer print vs. #eBooks reports @TheBookseller http://ow.ly/BZMem via @PWKidsBookshelf

Book Buzz: Parents who buy books for kids have an attachment to print, Nielsen study says http://ow.ly/CdMuk  @USAToday @PWKidsBookshelf

How I would have loved this as a kid: Middle-Graders Bond Over Books at Tweens Read Book Festival @PublishersWkly http://ow.ly/CdLWE 

Growing Bookworms

16 Magazines for Kids, recommended by @momandkiddo (who also links to why mags are good for kids) http://ow.ly/C4X5M

How Do You Model Reading for Children in the Digital Age? | @Quora via @PWKidsBookshelf http://ow.ly/CdMNx  #literacy

Story Time Secrets: 20 #Literacy Activities for National Pizza Month from @mrskatiefitz http://ow.ly/CdDCq

Great stuff! "picture books should become the best friend of every parent" says @StaceyLoscalzo http://ow.ly/CaCVA

Kidlitosphere

At A Year of Reading, @MaryLeeHahn + @frankisibberson are Celebrating Sylvia Vardell! http://ow.ly/CaCZK #poetry

#KidLitCon registration is now closed. Here's the updated list of Registered Attendees http://ow.ly/C5ldr

On Reading, Writing, Blogging and Publishing

"Adults who challenge books are ... trying to protect themselves and their ideas" Rosemary Hathaway @NerdyBookClub http://ow.ly/C4Xoz

Good advice from @gail_gauthier at Original Content: Time Management Tuesday: Be More Discriminating About Reading http://ow.ly/CaDJO

squeetus: The rage of age ranges, thoughts on the distinction between MG and YA from @haleshannon http://ow.ly/C7CNQ

"A book for a beginning reader can be just as grand as a picture book, just as important as a novel" Henkes @HornBook http://ow.ly/C4Vqz

Excellent letter shared by Wendie Old, written by Roger Sutton, on why @HornBook doesn't review self-published books http://ow.ly/C8qDu

Roger Sutton extends a challenge to self-publishers at @HornBook http://ow.ly/CdDth #kidlit

Sigh! Ellora’s Cave Suing Dear Author Blog for Defamation. Why Book Bloggers Should Be Worried | Babbling About Books http://ow.ly/C4Osf

Schools and Libraries

Let’s Celebrate International School Library Month! (October) says @BookChook http://ow.ly/BZFJi

Chicago Hope: How High School Librarian K.C. Boyd transformed a low-ranked school's reading culture @sljournal http://ow.ly/CdGuh

State Orders New York City to Comply with Mandate for Secondary School Librarians | @sljournal http://ow.ly/CdG42

Two useful posts from @molly_wetta about Social Media & Libraries, specifically Facebook Here's Part 2: http://ow.ly/BZD4o

© 2014 by Jennifer Robinson of Jen Robinson's Book Page. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @JensBookPage or at my Growing Bookworms page on Facebook.

Comments